en français, s’il vous plaît

Hello to you!

Today I want to share my new findings regarding new a designer, a yarn brand I didn’t knew before and my favourite project!

So – here’s my project: It’s the Cosmic Dandy by Julie Dubreux. She’s a new french designer and her second pattern was published this month. I’m currently working on her first one, but the second one called Born Naked is already in planning.

dandy

unfinished cosmic dandy, a moon shaped knitting piece in three different pink shades, lying on a white blanket, two of the three sections are done, vertical stripes in dark pink and mohair are attatched to the horizontal three colour striped body.

Cosmic Dandy is worked in three sections and uses two skeins of Merino Singles and one skein of Mohair. It uses yarn from La bien Aimèe, a french brand, which I’ll review later in this posting.

So in my picture I finished the first section of horizontal stripes and also the second section of vertical stripes. The third section is Brioche – I really looked forward to learn this new technique!

At the moment I’m in section three and I really love how the brioche turned out! It took some time for me to understand brioche, because the most videos are english style knitting and I do continental, but I figured it out and now I’m totally addicted to Brioche. Also Julie uploaded really helpful videos on Youtube about the vertical stripes section, picking up stichtes and also brioche – which where a pleasure to watch.

b

in the background are the three skeins of yarn, in the foreground the knitting is held up, focus on the brioche section.

b2

in the middle of the picture the brioche is showing up, the main colour switches from dark pink to mohair, the lighter pink is the contrastic colour.

 

I can’t wait to finish this lovely shawl because I want to wear it so much!

So now I’ll want to give you a review on the La bien Aimée yarn.

As you may know I’m a huge fan of pink yarn and also single ply yarn. So this was the perfect base for me. And what can I say? I’m totally in love- this yarn is super soft and super squishy and it knits up heavenly. I chose the colourways “Sari” and “Ballet” for my Cosmic Dandy and the colours are brilliant. I think Sari is one of my favourite colours ever, it’s iridescent and it really glows. Ballet runs from nearly white to a light off-rose and is a perfect soft colourway. The third yarn is a soft and silky Mohair, i choose “the Hotness” and I really like the texture of this Mohair. It has a really nice tension without loosing it’s softness. The colourway is a really warm pink, like a fluffy candy.

These yarns are hand dyed and she got two yarn stores in Paris and also her own online Shop. Shipping to Germany was expensive, but I’ll do it again – the quality of this yarn is amazing and worth every Cent.

I really want to visit Paris and also this Shop in the future.
Have you plans for visiting your favourite shops?

Have a great weekend and enjoy your knitting! ❤
Kathi

 

3 thoughts on “en français, s’il vous plaît

  1. glitterlamb says:

    Your Dandy is very beautiful and inspires me to try one, too. I have three skeins of variuos mohair and plenty of single ply….

    Like

Leave a Reply

